Who Starts A Business In The Middle Of A Recession

I did.  I started my natural skin care company Wild Beauty because I was laid off from my job as a paralegal December 2009.  From that moment, I refused to continue to place my livelihood in anyone else’s hands.  I’ve been in business since September 2010.  There are times when I feel as if I’m over my head.  You wonder if all the naysayers were right.  What were you thinking?  People are trying to save money, not spend it. You’re not Bath and Body Works, Carols Daughter or The Body Shop.  Yes, several of my so called friends have said that to me.

As one friend said to me today, “You have century old family beauty recipes passed down from your grandmother. Who wants to buy that?” Twisting the knife a little deeper while slowing pouring salt water into my festering wound.  I had to bite my tongue to keep from calling this person a few choice words and didn’t.  I’m better than that.  I politely pointed to the door and told this person don’t return until they knew how to be a friend, find some common courtesy and don’t let the door hit you where the good Lord split you.

I’ve had plenty of brutal days where I accidentally put the lavender vanilla shea butter hand cream label on the green tea and cucumber hand cream jar.  I dropped the batch of foot balm and now melted butter and oil are all over the floor. I’m on the phone with a potential buyer and my neighbor is playing Eminem and Rihanna’s song “Love The Way You Lie” at the maximum capacity. I’m running down the hallway to get outside to finish the call without sounding winded.

On those days I take a deep breath, calm down and remember my achievements both big and small.  It’s fantastic to celebrate the big ones but don’t forget the small ones.  You need to celebrate those too.  For me that was giving my first presentation for my weekly business meet up group.  Going to Ocean Park in Santa Monica and passing out samples of hand creams to anyone who would accept them.  The good days helped get through the tough ones, they are growing further and further apart.

It’s true that I have been in business just over four months but I’m realistic about my goals and expectations.  I know that unless my company Wild Beauty appears on Oprah Winfrey’s favorite things show, I’m not going to become an instant millionaire and gain worldwide recognition overnight.  I accept and okay with steady growth.

The road is littered with could’ve, should’ve and would’ve.  There are so many people every day that come with amazing ideas and want to start a business.  But fear, doubt, finances and other obstacles stop them. Hopefully when the time is right for them, they will step out on faith, believe in themselves and be passionate about what they’re introducing to the masses.  Just as I did and so many others, we are cheering for you.

Cherish your visions and your dreams as they are the children of your soul, the blueprints of your ultimate achievements – Napoleon Hill

Leave a Reply

