It’s The Small Fires You Have To Keep An Eye On

When it rains it pours. The month of February really kicked my butt. I was picked for jury duty. On my last day of jury duty my computer broke so I had to take it to the computer technician to fix it. Then my glasses broke. The place I go to get them closed down. So I had to find a new eye doctor. I’m blind as a bat without my glasses. This might be revealing my age but have you heard of the cartoon Mr. Magoo. He was an old man who hated wearing his glasses. He would pet a cat and he thought it was a skunk. Watch the cartoon click here and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

It’s just been – overwhelming and at times I felt like crying because so many things were happening at once.  I won’t mention them all here. I felt no inspiration to do anything scared of what tragedy would befall me next. It was crippling. I was doing some serious doggy paddling to stay afloat. I spoke with many of my friends. They were in the grips of the February blues too. I had to make a choice, keep feeling sorry for myself, being a victim or see this as a challenge to get back on target.

I accepted the challenge and put out one fire at time. I find a new optometrist. It took a week but the technician finally fixed my computer. To gain more exposure for my business, I checked out Venice Beach. I decided to sell Wild Beauty’s body oils starting April 1, 2011 Monday thru Friday. On the weekend it’s a circus with vendors trying to get spaces. On the Venice Beach boardwalk, it’s first come first serve, no assigned spots. On Saturdays I will sell at the Farmer Market in Silverlake at Sunset Junction. I’m ordering a sign, small folding table, chair and umbrella. During the summer it will be hot, so I need protection from the sun.

It’s all about taking action and not letting the small things growing into a raging firestorm as I did. Also remembering that I’m a start up company, I haven’t been in business a year yet. I can’t give up. The Body Shop, L’Occitone and Aubrey Organics didn’t happen over night. Somehow, someway more and more people will find out about Wild Beauty and our creations. I can’t give up.  It takes time, persistence and an unwavering faith that what you have can and does improve people’s lives and skin.

I’ll end this blog with a quote.

Nobody trips over mountains.  It is the small pebble that causes you to stumble. Pass all the pebbles in your path and you will find you have crossed the mountain.Author Unknown

Felecia Scott

http://www.shop.wildbeautyskincare.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

