The Pop Up Store Chronicles – Vermont/Sunset Metro Station

Day 1 - A personal victory.

Despite what this picture portrays, I was scared. After my plans for the summer to co-vend in Venice Beach fell through, I was disappointed. Vanessa and I had advertised on Facebook and Twitter that from June 29th to July 1st we be vending on Venice Beach (read the blog article click here). It only lasted for one day. I was disappointed and in panic mode. What now? How do I turn this negative into a positive? 

I was watching the morning news and a story came up about pop up stores. I had the “AHA!” moment. This was a viable option and could work. I created an event on Facebook then hit Twitter. I decided to set up a Wild Beauty pop up store outside at the Vermont and Sunset Metro Station.

I’m not far from there. There are three major hospitals right in the area, Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles, Kaiser Permanente and Presbyterian Hospital are located right there. I couldn’t have chosen a better spot. There are many major business lines running through this area.

Setting Up! I had no idea of how people were going to react.

I was terrified. I had doubts all the way up there. While I was setting up my stand, my hands were shaking. As I finished setting up a Los Angles Deputy Sheriff vehicle appeared. My heart sunk as he got out of the car. I asked him if it was okay, if I set up here. He said I was fine and continued on to the metro station. I said a thank you to the man above. Someone was watching out for me. I took it as a sign that I was on the right path.

Not long after I had set up, a woman tried to lowball me. She tried to get me to sell Wild Beauty’s aroma-therapeutic oils for $3.00 a bottle. Even though I’m selling at the metro station, the oils are of high quality. I was selling them at $10.00 a bottle. Online they are $20.00. Even though I really wanted to sell, I stuck to my price.

I was able to give out samples and business cards. Most walked by and a few turned their curious about what I was doing there. Although I didn’t sell anything that Thursday (6/30), it was a personal victory. I turned a negative into a positive. When I could have given up and been depressed, I refused to let this incident set me back.

Day 2 – Vermont and Metro Station Pop Up Store

My first customer and sale.

I opened the store around 11:30 am and within 10 minutes I had 2 sales. I was so happy, I almost cried. The sales were amazing but I knew this could really work. For the first time since Wild Beauty opened which was ten months ago, I saw a light at the end of the tunnel.

Steven Escobar from Diversity News

Steven Escobar from Diversity News came to the Sunset Vermont Metro Station. He interviewed me, took pictures of Wild Beauty’s pop up store and bought the lavender vanilla aroma-therapeutic oil. He was notified about our pop up store event from both Twitter and Facebook. The power of social media is undeniable.

Highlights From The Pop Up Store:

I put out a dish of the oils to entice people as they walked by and it worked. This converted into sales. Because of the customers who bought the oil, there was small gathering of people. I explained why body oils are great for their skin. What to look for when purchasing them. I was feeling confident and able to engage more people.

To be honest, I haven’t been getting a lot of hits on Wild Beauty’s website. So I brought the online store to the public. This is what I learned:

  • It’s definitely about location. The 754 bus line drops off potential customer’s right in front of my pop up store. Sunset and Vermont is one of LA’s busiest intersections.
  • You can just stand their like a bump on a log. Be proactive. There comes a time when you have to stop complaining and put yourself out there.
  • Listen to what your customers have to say. A man recommended the day before to put out a dish of the oils to attract people’s attention to walk by, since they smell fantastic. He came back and purchased the basil sage and mint aroma-therapeutic oil.

One happy person.

Be an optimist. Believe things will turn out well. When they don’t, don’t sulk. Learn what you can, use it next time. –   Bud Bilanich of The Comon Sense Guy. That is exactly what I did.

Felecia Scott / Natural Skin Care Artisan

Wild Beauty http://www.shop.wildbeautyskincare.com

5 thoughts on “The Pop Up Store Chronicles – Vermont/Sunset Metro Station

    • Where are you located and I will check out area and if it’s close, I’m sure I can set up a Pop Up Store 🙂 Also I’m sorry I haven’t responded sooner. WordPress had you in my spam box. On Sunday’s I’m at the Hollywood Farmer’s Market. Friday I’m at Long Beach.

  1. Pingback: Felecia Scott Interview at Vermont Sunset Blvd by the Metro Station – TV

  2. Pingback: The Pop Up Store Chronicles – Week 2 | Wild Beauty Skin Care

  3. Pingback: The Pop Up Store Chronicles – Creating and Making Golden Opportunities « Wild Beauty Skin Care

Leave a Reply

