The Pop Up Store Chronicles – Rebounding From A Week Of No Sales

My new sign. I made the chalk board my self. $8.00 board from Home Depot and the chalkboard spray paint was free from a friend.

Last week Wild Beauty’s Pop Up Store didn’t have a good week. As a matter of fact, we made no sales at each location we set up at from Monday – Friday.  This was a shock to me. I couldn’t believe it. I made NO MONEY.  How was this possible? Now I’m not a slave to the all might dollar but no one stopped by the store at all. My friend Sage from Ma Jasmin’s gave me some advice, step up my presentation.

Give your potential customers something to be curious about. She gave me a suggestion about getting some clear bottles and put a few of the ingredients I use to make Wild Beauty’s aroma-therapeutic oils. How about getting a small folding table and chalkboard. Use the chalkboard as your sign until I could afford one.

Since I don’t have a car, I needed something to load up all my supplies and materials. Since Wild Beauty has a shoe string budget, I had no idea how I would make all this happen by Sunday August 7th but where’s there’s a will, there’s a way.

It started by one of my neighbors giving me their extra cart that they don’t use. Everyone in my building knows I have a business and always let me know they will help if I need it and boy did I.

I bought these beautiful glass bottles from the Goodwill Store. Am I embarrassed to be shopping at The Goodwill, ABSOLUTELY NOT! I bought 4 of these bottles. They were in great condition and 2 for $.99 cents. Beat that Target!

I bought these beautiful glass bottles from the Goodwill Store. Am I embarrassed to be shopping at The Goodwill, ABSOLUTELY NOT! I bought 4 of these bottles. They were in great condition and 2 for $.99 cents. Beat that Target!

I found a folding table. It’s about 4 ft with a handle and easy to carry at Walmart on sale 70% off. It was $37.99 and I paid $13.06. It was the last one. I bought the chalk, brown paper bags and few other miscellaneous items at the 99 Cent store. I spent under $10.00 there. Can I say, the makeover worked. While setting up the table, I placed the see through bottles with the ingredients for display. I didn’t even have the oils up and 2 people came up to me asking what those were.

I explained and took out the aroma-therapeutic oils for them to try and made a sale. Needless to say, I kept getting interrupted but I didn’t mind. Last week I couldn’t get anyone to stop by. People read the sign, seen the table and came by. Some bought, others didn’t but they all left with a brochure and business card.

I completely changed up the store. It’s been effective. Now people can see the ingredients in the bottle. I’ve changed from the formula slightly. I’ve added some of the natural herbs and flowers in the oils. The aroma therapeutic oils are even better.  The Rose Bud and White Tea body oil made it’s debut, customers really loved it. They had a hard time choosing between the three oils (Lavender Vanilla, Basil Sage and Mint).

I would hear, “I’ll get the other one next time” or “Uh, I’m watching my budget but they smell wonderful and feel amazing on my skin.” With a sigh of defeat, “I’ll get both.” People were fascinated by the plants and flowers suspended in the oils.

A woman said, she liked my sign, it went with my display. It reminded her of a store out here called “Wild Oats Market” it’s similar to Whole Foods.

I finally found my business cards and brochures, I ordered several months ago. I don’t know how I lost them but you always find things when you are looking and say, “So this is where that was or I’ve been looking for this.”

A couple came up to me and asked if I have a vanilla and mint body oil. I replied, “No, but that will be a future product. The woman asked would I be willing to do a starter or already kit. They have the ingredients, fragrances  and directions and they can just do it themselves. I gave her my business card, told them to call me and let’s talk.

This is something I would have never thought of. I like the idea. As Sharon Osborne would say, “This is FABULOUS!!”.  It’s very important to listen to your customers and be flexible. You go into business with one idea and if the suggestion is viable, why not go with it.

This customer drove from Orange County to the Farmers Market in Hollywood. She loved her oils. I told her Next Sunday August 14th. I will debut the Cocoa and Vanilla Bean. She said, "You're going to make my drive all the way back just to get that one too.:

I’m going to end this blog with a quote. Failure is not fatal, but failure to change might be. – John Wooden. The meaning of his words translated to me was yes, I had a bad week. So I reviewed what was working. What wasn’t working, asked for suggestions from people I knew while browsing my competition and internet for ideas. Made a few changes to improve the appearance and introduced a new aroma-therapeutic oil.  But more important, I didn’t beat myself up for too long. I choose to see this as an opportunity to improve and grow.

Felecia Scott /Natural Skin Care

Wild Beauty – Mother Nature has the answers to beautiful, healthy skin. All we have to do is listen.

 

2 thoughts on “The Pop Up Store Chronicles – Rebounding From A Week Of No Sales

Leave a Reply

