The Pop Up Store Chronicles – There’s Rejection And Then The Ultimate Rejection

It's true rejection isn't fatal but no one likes it to happen, especailly when it's the ultimate rejection

This past week my spirit took a real hit and was truly tested. It started last Friday, September 30th. I was in Beverly Hills going to some of the trendy boutiques. Try to see if they would carry Wild Beauty’s body oils. I received a whole lot of no’s. Most were pretty olite and some recommended a few stores that I should try.  A select few of the salespersons and managers were frosty but it was to be expected since I am what some might consider a solicitor. There were several signs that said no soliciting so I stayed away from those stores.

The last store of the day, I went to drop off a sample to…well that rejection really hurt. As a matter fact, I cried. With my small, green gift bag in hand with samples of Wild Beauty’s body oils walked into the store. The sales woman was in her mid – 20’s, pretty and very stylish.  She smiled as I walked up to her and informed her who I was and what I did.

I said, “I would like to leave a sample of my body oils for the manager or store owner to try. If it’s something they are interested in, please give me a call. The saleswoman replied, “Sure.” and then placed the bag behind the counter.

We shook hands and I walked out.  About a minute later, I remembered I didn’t put a business card in the bag. I turned around and went back to the store. As I walked in, I noticed the saleswoman I gave the bag to throw my bag in the garbage.  I was pissed off.  My first thought was an excuse my language I can’t believe that b*tch did that. How dare she? I had to blink back my tears of hurt and anger. Seeing my passion, love and hard work being thrown in the trash without a second thought really hurt my heart.  I wasn’t prepared to see that.

I walked inside right up to the sales woman. She was surprised to see me come back and started backing away from me.  I guess she thought I was going to hurt her. I
know I looked furious and probably intimidating because I was furious. I stopped about a foot away from her. “You don’t need to be afraid of me.” I said. “I don’t need
my fists to get my point across. If you didn’t want the body oils then all you had to say was thank you but no thank you. You didn’t have to throw them in the trash.”

“I didn’t.” The saleswoman replied. “I placed the bag on the counter and I accidentally knocked it over and landed in the garbage can.”

“I saw you through the window, tossing my bag into the garbage.”

I went into the garbage can to retrieve my bag and a very, nice store patron took it out for me. She told the saleswoman. “I saw you throw her bag into the garbage. What
you did was so wrong.  You won’t have to worry about me shopping here anymore. I know the store manager and will tell her about this incident.”

This is one of my favorite sayings about gratitude.

I was really overcome with gratitude and emotion. I could feel myself about to cry again. The woman asked me, “How much is the bag worth?”

I said, “There just samples.”

“Doesn’t matter. How much is the bag worth?”

I had samples of each of the body oils (basil sage and mint, lavender vanilla, chamomile neroli and pink rose bud black tea).  I replied, “Forty dollars.”

She gave me sixty. This woman restored my faith in the human spirit, kindness and decency.  She smiled and said, “Good luck.” then walked out the door.

I was in shock. I couldn’t believe it. I wanted to turn around and stick my tongue out at the saleswoman but didn’t.  I remembered I didn’t get her name.  I went after her but she was already gone. I sat down at a nearby bench and this time finally cried hurt and thankful. I’m dedicating this blog to my savior in a sense. Whoever you are, I hope we meet again.

This blog post was really hard for me to write because I was completely embarrassed and humiliated. Even though you don’t hear much about incidents like mine they do happen. My feelings were hurt, I mean that saleswoman took a sledgehammer to my feelings. This incident has made me into a stronger person. Not everyone you meet will be enthusiastic about what you’re selling or your services but you can’t let it deter you. Stay strong and have faith. Don’t let anyone take it from you.

Tuesday, October 11th, I will have finished part two of this post which is about “Trials and Tribulations”

Felecia Scott / Founder Wild Beauty

17 thoughts on “The Pop Up Store Chronicles – There’s Rejection And Then The Ultimate Rejection

  1. What an amazing story with an even more amazing turn around! I am inspired by your honesty and willingness to share this with your fans. Just remember that you are out there every minute of every day living your passion. The clerk at that store is not living hers. And that customer that helped you out and stuck up for you was nothing short of an angel put there to show you not to give up. Ever! You continue to wow me with your tenacity and I am 110% certain that clerk will see your products in a high end boutique very soon and be ashamed that she did what she did. I hope she already is ashamed. You should be nothing but grateful for that whole experience! Keep on keepin on Momma! You rock!

    • Thank you, Sage. I think I rewrote this article about a dozen times. Even when I pressed the button to publish, I still had second thoughts. I’m glad I did. I felt a sense of relief being able to tell everyone what happened. No matter adversity or hostility we receive from people, we can’t let it stop us from pursuing our dream and doing what we love. You’re an inspiration to me as well.

    • Thank you Gretchen. Thank you for your words. i didn’t feel so brave but I feel alot better now. I’m not going to give up and i’m more focused to making my company a success. I won’t let this incident halt the momentum that I have.

  2. You hang in there Felecia! What Sage wrote was right. You will be able to look back on this one day and won’t feel hurt bywhatvthis callous person did. The person who bought your samples obviously had a better sense of what kind of quality products you do.

  3. Hi Lisa, it’s great to hear from you. It took me a while to get over the incident and really appreciate your words of support and everyone else as well. One day I hope we can meet in person and I can give you a hug for your amazing friendship.

  4. Pingback: The Pop Up Store Chronicles – Trials and Tribulations Keep Coming « Wild Beauty Skin Care

  5. OK, I had to blink back a few tears as well. I understand that and had it happen to me. Some people lead with rude thoughts while other walk with loving kindness. We just have to remember not all are alike and, as you said, some make us stronger. The bitterness is the knock, the kindness is the stability. Stay strong Felicia and move on!

  6. I have so many amazing friends and family in my life I forget you have those people who lead with rude thoughts. This was by far my hardest blog article to write so far. Your words put a smile on my face right now. I’m going to post this on my Facebook page right now. Thank you so much Sherri.

  7. Felecia,

    It’s never easy to see someone reject your work out of hand – it hurts and it gives your spirit a beating.

    I know you.

    While your spirit might be bruised (and it will happen again) on your way up – I have no doubt that, in the end, you WILL make a household name for yourself. You are driven, you are savvy, and you have a product which is WORTH the price.

    Dust off the dirt, wash off your hands and get right back into doing what you do best – making wonderful beauty products people can believe in.

    • Linda, you soooo awesome. Thank you for your words of inspiration. One of these days I’m coming to Europe and we going to look back and this blog post with laughter and sharing a cup of coffee. You’re a great friend. Thank you for your friendship.

  8. That was beautiful. I was really touched.
    It has taken years for me to promote my products to the people I know well, who still put then down after all these years, but who are grudgingly buying them.
    I think you have a lot of guts to actually go out there and try to promote them like this.

    I’d be glad to know if this approach is working for you.
    My partner & I spent a full year talking and giving away samples to beauty owners, to realize that, for our particular products (which are not the same as the ones they regularly use) it didn’t work.
    Right now, we do Retail & Pvt Label.

    I’m gonna look up the rest of your blog- you sound so very brave. Stick to it!

    • Hi Esther, I wish you all the success and prosperity in your business. Sometimes we feel so alone in business and at times I do. It’s why I started this blog. I wanted to connect with other small business owners and share what I go through and create a community where we can come together and support each other. With this blog with the amazing people I have met, all of your kind words and support and advice have helped me. I’m really happy to be part of this growing community we have.

  9. Thank you and I’m really glad this blog post could help. This is the side of business no one tells you about. Even after this incident, I still have a little fear of rejection but I’m working through it. I wish you success and prosperity Serenity Lure.

  10. Pingback: From Sidewalk Vendor to Abe’s Market « Wild Beauty Skin Care

Leave a Reply

