Supplementing Your Business Income

I love what I do making body oils and candles but the reality was, it wasn't paying all my bills.

It’s 7:30 am and I’m leaving the house and walking up the street to the bus stop on my way to my new job. This week is my first week. I found a job working the kitchen at a local restaurant. For the past year, I’ve been my own boss running Wild Beauty. For the last two months sales have been declining and my savings was drying up. I know needed income. So I found a job.

But the great perk about my new job is that it doesn’t interfere with my business. If I had found a paralegal job I would be constantly bringing home work. This would hinder Wild Beauty. It’s still a start up company. As a matter of fact, yesterday when I came home after work, I made another batch of body oils. The work gods were listening and heard my prayer about finding a job that doesn’t interfere with my business. The restaurant is a 15-20 bus ride from my house. I take a single bus. It runs 24hrs…can you say I’M LOVING IT!!!

So what do I do in the kitchen, well some prep work and dishes and I’m happy. It’s nothing to be ashamed of. I know of few friends after they were laid off took jobs they were embarassed about. Well, more they thought other people would look down on them. I told them, don’t be ashamed of what you do. It  puts food in your refrigerator, clothes on your back and pays your rent. Their are millions of people out of work and they would happy to have your job. You are blessed.

I posted this on Wild Beauty's Facebook. It's also on my board so when i start feeling sorry for myself, I read this and I remember how blessed I am.

I know and understand that the 3 years of a start up are the most challenging because statistics show most businesses fail. So if you have a business and it’s not covering all the bills and I know it’s not what you had in mind, me neither. The reality is you have bills that need to be paid and it takes money. I don’t consider it failing and neither should you that we failed because we needed to supplement our income. We can still our business and be employed.

When our business grows and we can no longer do both then one of our jobs has to go. Which one do you think we’ll give up?

Felecia Scott

Founder/Wild Beauty

2 thoughts on “Supplementing Your Business Income

Leave a Reply

