I’m Juggling My Butt Off….And Loving It!

No, you didn’t read the blog title wrong. It’s correct. Working full time and running a small business full time is truly a juggling act. I work from 5 pm to 1 am. Sometimes I don’t get off until 2 am and don’t get home until 3-3:30 am because I’m waiting on the bus. Catching public transportation at the time of night, the buses don’t run as often. When I get home, I can’t fall asleep so I take a shower, do some stretching, meditation and then get down to work. For the next 1 -1 ½ hours, I dedicate my time to Wild Beauty.

  • Writing Correspondences
  • Getting samples ready to be sent out
  • Redoing the website which will be open May 1, 2012
  • Working on Press Release For Oh My Aching Aromatherapy oil- Launch date June 1, 2012
  • Revamping my social media campaign
  • Editing one page a day of my book “The Pop Up Store Chronicles” Surviving Your First Year in business.

There’s more of course but you get what I’m saying. After doing this, I go to bed.  By the time I go to bed it’s between 4 – 5 am.  I wake up at 1pm. Since my knee is doing better, I’m back on my exercise program. I walk 30 minutes every day, come home take a shower and then answer a few emails before getting ready for work and start the process all over again. Yes, there have been many nights I have come home completely exhausted. I don’t want to do anything but go to sleep. But I don’t. Why? I don’t want to work in the kitchen for the next 20 years washing dishes.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m thankful for my job. I’m thankful for the benefits and the steady paycheck that is getting me back on my feet. I’m blessed and say a prayer of thanks every morning when I wake and at night before I go to bed, because someone somewhere is without a job and benefits. I have a dream. I’m determined to have it come true and slacking off and procrastinating won’t help it materialize.

Anyone who thinks they can’t or don’t have time to start a small business. Start with 30 minutes and do 1 -2 tasks to get you started. Then as you grow more confident add 15 minutes, so you don’t feel overwhelmed until you get into your routine. Before you know it you’ll have completed the tasks you needed to do. Whether it’s starting a business, writing a book or whatever your passion is, before you know it, you’ll be juggling your butt off like me and loving it!

Felecia Scott

Founder/Wild Beauty

2 thoughts on “I’m Juggling My Butt Off….And Loving It!

Leave a Reply

