I’m Fragrance Challenged!

When it comes to synthetic fragrances I am.  I have been for about 10 years now. I was reminded of it yesterday. I’ll explain about how I became this way a further into the blog post.

I was at Coffee Bean with my friend Lisa, who found this new perfume she loved and thought it would smell great on me. Before I could stop her, she sprayed some of my wrist. My eyes started itching and getting watery. My nose also started itching, running and I began sneezing.

Lisa was surprised by my reaction. She asked if I had allergies. I told her yes to her perfume. She didn’t understand what I was talking about and wondered how I was allergic to her perfume. I explained to her that there are a minimum of 5,000 chemicals that it takes to create her precious perfume. Of course she had no idea that it took that many chemicals to make her perfume. It was no surprise that she wasn’t to thrilled about her new perfume or have been willingly spraying all those chemicals on to her body either.

As I wrote earlier about ten years ago when I was turning 30, yes, I’m giving away my age. I noticed my body going through changes. It seemed all the sudden I had allergies and couldn’t understand. So I went to the doctor and told her what’s going on.

She had seen me talking to a woman in the office earlier. The woman I was sitting next to asked me what kind of perfume I was wearing. I told her Estee Lauder Pleasure Intense. (This is my favorite perfume in the world and the only that I wore). I had a small bottle with me. I put a small dab on her wrist. I started sneezing, rubbing my eyes and sniffing. It hadn’t occurred to me that I was allergic to my perfume since it had never happened to me before until my doctor told me. She said it’s very common. A lot of people don’t even realize that they are allergic to fragrances. They just think they have allergies.

My doctor also told me that it doesn’t matter what kind of perfume, candle even detergent, I will have the same reaction. Now this pissed me off because I had just bought the Pleasure collection including the lotion and shower gel ($100). Can you guess what I did?

If you answered I keep wearing it until I ran out you would be right. I just spend $100 on all that stuff, there’s no way I’m going to give it away. So I suffered for about another month and then threw out anything that was synthetic. I have nothing against Estee Lauder. I think they are a great company, unfortunately their products are not right for me anymore.

So I began my journey for more natural products. Educating myself about what I scent my home and put on my body. Now that I use essential and I burn resin like frankincense and myrrh. I notice now that I can distinguish the difference between lavender essential oil and lavender fragrance. They are two different scents when other people would say they smell a like to me.

I’m proud to admit that yes, I’m fragrance challenged!

Felecia Scott Founder / Wild Beauty

Leave a Reply

