The Thrill and Anxiety of Launching A New Product

Launching June 2012

June 2012, I will be launching my new aromatherapy oil for aches and pains called as you know “Oh My Aching”. It’s always thrilling mixed anxiety. All the aromatherapy oils I make are my babies but this one holds a special place in my heart. If you remember a few blog posts back Who Are You and Why Should People Care, I made this oil because of a request from a dear friend of mine who has cancer. She’s a very private person so I changed her name at her request. The side effects from the chemo are hard on her body. My friend asked if I could make something along the lines of Icy Hot but doesn’t get as unbearably hot. Also smells better than Icy Hot and Bengay while relieving pain, all natural and smells good.

After months of testing, trying out and throwing away numerous batches, I found the right formula. I finished the testing phase, sending out 200 samples to people with rave reviews. I’m ready to launch. Now the thrill and anxiety begin. The trilling part is introducing a labor of love and passion to world. This oil is going to and will change and improve lives.

Now the anxiety part is accomplishing the tasks I’ve set out for myself. My deadline which I have set the product launch for either June 1st or June 15th, I will know for sure by the end of this week. My tasks are:

  • Start an email list for customers who are interested in purchasing “Oh My Aching” aromatherapy oil. For those who sign up get 10% off discount when they purchase the oil.
  • Get video or written testimonial from testers who have used “Oh My Aching”
  • Write press release and media kit
  • Set up list of target magazines, media and press I want to contact.
  • Make sure I have enough products on hand to handle demand (which I do but I want to make sure.
  • Get product pictures taken.

It’s not on the list because I have already taken care of it but I will be approaching organizations such as the NFL, NHL, NBA, MLB and more. I’m sure they’re players could use “Oh My Aching Oil”. I have all the names of the head trainers for each team. I will be contacting them. You might be thinking wow! Felecia you’ve got guts to be approaching these organizations. I do plus, drive, focus determination and vision. (Shameless plug here. If anyone has a contact to one of these organizations can you let me know?) I’ve already sent samples out to massage therapists, chiropractors, holistic healers who have also contacted me about Oh My Aching oil. I have determination and a passion. I’m on a mission. My goal is to end aches and pains.

I’ve been doing planning and research for over a year. If you want to launch a product right, don’t rush into it. Do your research. Test it out first. Listen to feedback both positive and negative. Make the necessary changes and test again until you get a majority thumbs up (which is what I did) so that when you launch, you have the best product/service ready for the public.

I really love this quote. “Efforts and courage are not enough without purpose and direction.” – John F. Kenny which I have.

Felecia Scott

Founder/Wild Beauty

One thought on “The Thrill and Anxiety of Launching A New Product

Leave a Reply

