Writing The Dreaded Press Release

When writing a press release this really sums it up.

Some people will call it a necessary evil. Why is it so mind boggling to write a single page shout out about why your product/service is so freaking amazing, that someone should pay attention to. Why is it newsworthy? When I think of having to draft one myself, dreading…dreading…dreading! Or I could like many other small business owners, let it be someone else’s headache.

In the end, I decided to write Wild Beauty‘s press release. My friend Magua referred me to a site. He said it was very informative, straight forward that would prepare and help me to write a press release. I completely agree. As a matter of fact, I favored the website on my Google sidebar. If you a beginner and have never written a press release then this is the site for you – http://www.publicityinsider.com. Publicity Insider is the brain child of Bill Stoller. He’s worked with Coca Cola, Hasbro and Colgate to name a few doing public relations.

Here’s the link that takes to what is a press release and how to write one – http://www.publicityinsider.com/release.asp. I learned more from this website about what (PR) public relations is than from any book I’ve purchased. How PR works.  What it can and can’t do for your business. When you click on the link and get about a ¼ page down you will see this paragraph – taken from the website:

What should I put in my press release?

Stop right now and click here to read our in-depth advice about packaging yourself as newsworthy. This is an important step – so don’t skip it!

He’s right. Don’t’ skip this part. The information he provides really opens your eyes. When I wrote my first rough draft of my press release, I could see that I was too emotionally involved. He gives awesome examples of good and bad press releases and why. For me I wrote a press release that was emotional not practical. It didn’t explain why Wild Beauty’s Oh My Aching aromatherapy oil product launch was newsworthy. He also lets you see how the other side, the press (editors and reporters) their view and what they are looking for.

Alright, we are going to do a poll. Vote for the one you like. I’m excited to see the results.

Felecia Scott

Founder/Wild Beauty

Leave a Reply

