Next Target….Whole Foods Market

On May 6th, I sent an email submission to Whole Foods Market about getting Wild Beauty‘s aroma-therapeutic oils in their Southern Pacific District which consists of Southern California, Southern Nevada, Arizona and Hawaii. Yesterday, June 19th, I received an email response back saying “Thank you for contacting Whole Foods Market Southern Pacific Region. Attached is our application form and the Whole Body category review schedule. Please fill out forms to the best of your ability and return to this email address. New items are expected to be presented for the category review and ready to launch by the launch date.”

I passed round one which is the preliminary round. Next, I have to fill out the paperwork. Which consists of:

  1. In PDF I received the Product Supplier application. Which breaks to 7 work sheets.
  2.  The first is supplier instructions, filling out my I-9, Certificate of Liability Insurance and such.
  3. New Item Form: Description of each item, how much it costs, item size, UPC Code.
  4. The actual supplier application.
  5. Next worksheet is the Vendor Ordering System, which allows Whole Foods to order Wild Beauty’s products easily and without hassle. I will need to set up an account.
  6. The last worksheet is to give my account information so I can get paid.
  7. The final form is The Bill 657 Senate Compliance Agreement, which is the California Transparency in Supply Chain Act of 2010 Agreement.  None of Wild Beauty’s products were used with slave labor and human trafficking. I don’t believe in, condone or support.

Oh My Aching…for aches and pains.

So yes, it’s a lot of paperwork but I’m still jazzed about sending my samples and filling out the paperwork. It took Whole Foods a little over a month to respond. They get bombarded with emails every day about companies wanting to sell their merchandise with them. They only respond if they are interested. Oh I almost forget, they give you a sheet which shows the deadline date to send in your samples for whatever you submitted to. I submitted to Whole Body because I make oils/skin care. My deadline is August 24th.

Once Wild Beauty’s passes their strict guidelines and testing all of Wild Beauty’s oils, “Oh My Aching…, Stress A Wee Bit Less Aroma-therapeutic Oil, Kickin It Shaving Oil and Black Tea-sing Rose Facial Elixir will be in Whole Foods Market in the Southern Pacific District by the week of Jan 7-11th.  Basically the second week of January 2013.

Once Wild Beauty’s passes their strict guidelines and testing all of Wild Beauty’s oils, “Oh My Aching…, Stress A Wee Bit Less Aroma-therapeutic OilKickin It Shaving Oil and Black Tea-sing Rose Facial Elixir will be in Whole Foods Market in the Southern Pacific District by the week of Jan 7-11th.  Basically the second week of January 2013.

This is very exciting for me. When I first started Wild Beauty I had imagined that Wild Beauty would be in Whole Foods but it was just a dream and now it’s becoming and soon will be a reality. For a small business as mine it is such a huge opportunity. There is no reason why I can’t compete with the bigger name brands out there and so can you.

As an entrepreneur we can’t limit ourselves because we not like the big boys. I say so what!!! The only difference between us and them is that they are better known but doesn’t mean better quality.

Felecia Scott

Founder / Wild Beauty

Embrace Your Entrepreneurial Spirit! BELIEVE IN IT! LIVE IT! OWN IT!

4 thoughts on “Next Target….Whole Foods Market

  1. FYI whole Foods sends that to anyone who asks about selling in their store, at this point they don’t even know who you are.

    • That’s okay. I’m still happy about being able to submit my samples. I know others who have sent emails and received no response. Even if they don’t know who I am, you’re supposed to celebrate the small victories. Enough small victories lead to big ones. I’m going to celebrate this small victory 😉

Leave a Reply

